Reptile Memoirs (Libro en Inglés)

$ 924.00
ISBN: 9780802158864
ISBN: 9780802158864
Editorial: Grove Press
Autor: Ulstein, Silje
Año de edición: 2022
N° Paginas: 400
Tipo de pasta: Pasta dura
Descripción: About the AuthorSilje Ulstein has a master's degree in Literature from the University of Oslo and studied creative writing at the Bergen Writing Academy. Her debut novel Reptile Memoirs was a bestseller in Norway. She lives in Oslo.Alison McCullough is a Norwegian to English translator and writer. She was awarded a National Centre for Writing Emerging Translator Mentorship in 2017. She lives in Stavanger, Norway.A bestselling Norwegian debut already sold in thirteen territories, Reptile Memoirs is a brilliantly twisty and unusual literary thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Jo Nesbø, Kate Atkinson, and Tana French, asking the question: Can you ever really shed your skin?Liv has a lot of secrets. For her, home is the picturesque town of Ålesund, perched on a fjord in western Norway. One night, in the early-morning embers of a great party in the basement apartment she shares with two friends, Liv is watching TV, high on weed, and sees a python on an Australian nature show. She becomes obsessed with the idea of buying a snake as a pet. Soon Nero, the baby Burmese python, becomes the apartment's fourth roommate. As Liv bonds with Nero, she feels extremely protective, like a caring mother, and she is struck by a desire that surprises her with its intensity. Finally she is safe.Thirteen years later, in the nearby town of Kristiansund, Mariam Lind goes on a shopping trip with her eleven-year-old daughter, Iben, who angers her mother by asking for a magazine one too many times. Mariam storms off, leaving Iben in the shop and, expecting her young daughter to find her own way home, heads off on a long calming drive. When she returns home in the evening, her husband is relieved to see her but terrified that Iben isn't also there. Detective Roe Olsvik is assigned to the case of Iben's disappearance; he has just turned sixty and is new to the Kristiansund police department. As he interrogates Mariam, he instantly suspects her—but there is much more to this case and these characters than their outer appearances would suggest.A biting and constantly shifting tale of family secrets, rebirth, and the legacy of trauma, Reptile Memoirs is a brilliant exploration of the cold-bloodedness of humanity, and the struggle to mend broken lives and families.ReviewPraise for Reptile Memoirs:An Amazon Best Book of the Month (Mystery, Thriller, and Suspense)“Part fairy tale, part psychological thriller, this tale follows a missing child, a damaged young woman with a pet Burmese python and other inhabitants of a Norwegian coastal town.”—New York Times, “Globetrotting”“The serpentine plot of this astonishing debut gradually tightens its grip and leaves you gasping . . . The narrative twists will make your jaw drop; the sections told from the point of view of Nero, whose prey becomes larger and larger, make you gag. Silje Ulstein is a daringly original writer.”—Times (UK)“A dark, visceral novel of shame, trauma and secrets, told in two distinct timelines . . . Disturbing, thought-provoking . . . Enigmatic and intricate, this first novel will chill even the most hardened of Scandinavian noir fans with its considerations of human nature, self-determination and animal instinct.”—Shelf Awareness“Reptile Memoirs is the perfect novel for those who like their mysteries and thrillers delivered in a manner that is a bit left of center but still contains all the crucial elements you would expect from a classic noir investigation story. Silje Ulstein is a talented author, and I am excited to see what she has in store for readers next.”—Book Reporter“Everyone seems guilty in this well-written, pitch-black psychological thriller, whose tense, lost-child theme conjures twisted fairytale tropes.”—Booklist“Original, sharp, tender and chilling, Reptile Memoirs is hugely ambitious and hypnotically readable.”—Chris Whitaker, author of We Begin at the End“Reptile Memoirs is a magnetic ocean tide: a bold, heart-stopping and genre-defyi
  • Idioma: Inglés
  • Envío: Desde EE. UU.
  • Libro Impreso y Nuevo