Between Shades of Gray: The Graphic Novel (Libro en Inglés)

$ 572.00
ISBN: 9780593404850
ISBN: 9780593404850
Editorial: Philomel Books
Autor: Donkin, Andrew
Año de edición: 2021
N° Paginas: 160
Tipo de pasta: Pasta blanda
Descripción: Product DescriptionJust in time for the 10th anniversary of Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys's award-winning debut novel, and inspiration for the major motion picture Ashes in the Snow, is now a gorgeous graphic novel!From #1 New York Times and international bestselling author and Carnegie Medal winner of Salt to the Sea comes a story of loss and of fear--and ultimately of survival--in a brand-new four-color format."Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington PostA New York Times notable bookAn international bestsellerA Carnegie Medal nomineeA William C. Morris Award finalistA Golden Kite Award winnerJune, 1941. A knock comes at the door and the life of fifteen-year-old Lina Vilkas changes forever. She's arrested by the Soviet secret police and deported from Lithuania to Siberia with her mother and younger brother. The conditions are horrific and Lina must fight for her life and for the lives of those around her, including the boy that she loves. Risking everything, she secretly passes along clues in the form of drawings, hoping they will reach her father's prison camp. But will her messages, and her courage, be enough to reunite her family? Will they be enough to keep her alive?A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief, now available as a stunning graphic novel.From School Library JournalGr 9 Up-To mark the 10th anniversary of Sepetys's moving work about a teenager imprisoned in a Siberian work camp, Donkin and Kopka have adapted it into graphic novel format. In June 1941, Lina and her family in Lithuania are taken from their home by Soviet officers. Lina, 15, is furious and terrified. Her mother bribes the guards into letting Lina's younger brother stay with her and Lina; Lina's father's fate is unknown. Lina meets a young man named Andrius on the train, and their friendship eventually blossoms into tentative romance. The text is told largely from Lina's perspective, with dialogue from her family and fellow refugees. Once their packed train car arrives at the camp, Lina and her mother work in the beet fields and struggle to stay alive; Lina attempts to get word to her father that they're in Siberia. Lina finds solace in her artwork, and this is where the graphic novel format shines. The story does not shy from the more horrific details, although violence and death are often depicted off-page. The book is based on real-life accounts of Lithuanian refugees, and an author's note illuminates Sepetys's research. The watercolors are rendered mostly in somber grays and browns, although occasional splashes of color are used to great effect. Teens familiar with the story will appreciate its new form, and it will also bring in plenty of new readers. VERDICT Offering a side of World War II not often depicted in media, this is a solid addition for teen graphic novel collections.-Gretchen Hardin, Bee Cave P.L., TXα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.ReviewPraise for Between Shades of Gray:“A superlative first novel. A hefty emotional punch.”--The New York Times Book Review“Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both.”--The Washington Post"Beautiful…a superb though grueling novel.”--The Wall Street Journal“An eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart.”--Los Angeles Times“An engrossing and poignant story of the fortitude of the human spirit in a dark time in Lithuanian history.”--Associated Press“Brave Lina is a heroine young and old readers can believe in.”--Entertainment Weekly“Please read this small window into a tragedy.”--NPR“Beautifully written and researched, it captures the devastation of war while celebrating the will to survive.”--Family Circle* “A harrowing page-turner.”--Publishers Weekly, starred review* “A gripping story.”--School Library Journal,
  • Idioma: Inglés
  • Envío: Desde EE. UU.
  • Libro Impreso y Nuevo